Active Start: Youth Bowling Canada

FUNdamentals: Youth Bowling Canada

Learn to Train: Youth Bowling Canada

Not everyone is familiar with bowling opportunities. People who are new to Canada, or have disabilities, may have no knowledge of bowling programs that are open and suitable for their participation. Bowling centres cater to people of all ages who have fun participating in a physical activity, often while socializing with friends. But while this sport can be entirely social, it can also be highly competitive at many levels.

Along with teamwork, bowling teaches participants fundamental movement skills, fundamental sport skills and the ABCs – agility, balance, coordination and speed – of physical literacy.

Bowling’s Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD) model consists of seven stages.

  • Active Start (M, F 0-5) – Encourages children to bowl for fun.
  • FUNdamentals (M 5-9, F 5-8) – Introduces fundamental movement skills through bowling and participation in physical activity.
  • Learn to Bowl (M 9-12, F 8-11) – Uses fundamental sport skills to enjoy practicing and competing.
  • Train to Perform (M 13-15, F 12-14) – Commits to technical and physical preparation in order to become a high level competitive bowler.
  • Train to Compete (M 16-18+, F 15-16+) – Performs consistently in training and competition at the provincial and national level.
  • Train to Win (M, F any age) – Prepares for the predictable and improbable while maximizing and emphasizing the psychological aspect of the game, with the purpose of succeeding at the national and international levels.
  • Bowl for Life (M, F any age) – Promotes bowling for fun, fitness and health, and playing either competitively or recreationally.

LTAD Plan for Bowling
A model that meets the developmental needs of its athletes while reflecting the specific nature of bowling.

Bowling Federation of Canada –