Active Start: Lacrosse FITS

FUNdamentals: Lacrosse FITS

Learn to Train: Lacrosse FITS

Lacrosse is a distinctly Canadian sport. Although its inception is surrounded by myth, this game began with the First Nations people. Originally, lacrosse was characterized by a deeply spiritual involvement, and those who took part did so with the highest ideals of bringing glory to themselves and their tribes. Today, lacrosse has four disciplines – Box, Men’s Field, Women’s Field, and Inter-Lacrosse – and has evolved from a spiritual game of our First Nations into the exciting, thriving sport played across our country.

Along with teamwork, lacrosse teaches participants fundamental movement skills, fundamental sport skills and the ABCs – agility, balance, coordination and speed – of physical literacy.

Lacrosse’s Long-Term Athlete Development (LTAD) model consists of seven stages.

  • Active Start (M, F 0-6) – Teaches fundamental movement skills and basic rules, and links them together into play.
  • FUNdamentals (M 6-10, F 6-7) – Introduces skills and the ABCs through physical activity.
  • Learn to Train (M 10-12, F 8-10) – Addresses more advanced skills, tactics and mental preparation and introduces competition.
  • Train to Train (M 12-16, F 11-14) – Continues to develop skills and physiological capacities through increased competition, with effort spent on talent identification.
  • Learn &Train to Compete (M 16-23+/-, F 15-21+/-) – Optimizes fitness preparation, further develops skills and tactics, and begins specialization in the sport through year-round physical training.
  • Learn & Train to Win (M, F 17+/-) – Maximizes performance by consolidating and perfecting all skills and capacities, while performing to win.
  • Active for Life (M, F all ages) – Encourages all individuals to remain physically active, either competitively or recreationally, for life.

Lacrosse for Life: Overview
The aim of this LTAD model is to promote the development and continued success of our sport in Canada by creating an optimal player development pathway. Three of the disciplines have Lacrosse for Life documents:

Drill and Skill Cards
This reference guide explains various drills and skills used in lacrosse.

The Fun with Fundamentals three-part DVD series, a learning device focused on teaching the FUNdamentals, is a must-have for anyone who is serious about Canada’s national summer sport. The series can be purchased through the CLA or individual PSOs.

Beginning in fall 2011, Lacrosse will have a six-module FUNdamentals program for elementary schools called Lacrosse FITS. It will consist of 10 lesson plans for each module that can be taught during Phys Ed to children in grades one through six.

Canadian Lacrosse Association –